Blog icon
Register now



Event date and time

Wednesday 29 Mar 2023
3.00pm AEDT


CSIRO Lindfield - Foyer and auditorium
36 Bradfield Road, Lindfield NSW

The CSIRO Alumni network and LCU are proud to present the 2023 CSIRO Alumni Physics scholarship award ceremony.

We are pleased to invite our alumni, staff and friends to join us in celebrating the 2023 winner, Giulia Cinquegrana.

The event will be hosted by Tanya Bowes, CSIRO Director of Corporate Affairs, Dr Scott Martin, Dr Bob Steele and Helen Lorigan, CEO of LCU.

Our scholarship winner, Giulia Cinquegrana, will give a talk on her theoretical astrophysics research and her plans to visit Europe in August 2023.

If you are interested in taking a tour of CSIRO Lindfield and seeing our research in action, please register for our 1.45pm tour.

Following the event, we will be providing an afternoon tea in the foyer for people who would like to catch up with friends and former colleagues.

To read a full synopsis please visit our website by clicking the button below.


  • Free

Dates and Times

Event date: Mar 2023

Wednesday 29 Mar 2023

CSIRO Lindfield - Foyer and auditorium

3.00pm AEDT

36 Bradfield Road, Lindfield NSW
Get Directions

Booking closed


CSIRO Alumni

More information

About the event

The scholarship commemorates the contributions that four cherished colleagues Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer made to Australian science.

The event will be hosted by Tanya Bowes, CSIRO Director of Corporate Affairs, Dr Scott Martin, Dr Bob Steele and Helen Lorigan, CEO of LCU

Giulia Cinquegrana

The 2023 scholarship winner is Giulia Cinquegrana

Giulia is a third-year PhD student in theoretical astrophysics and is planning to visit Europe in August 2023.

Giulia’s research concerns the evolution and chemical contributions of stars with very high initial metal content. Her visit will strongly support the pursuit of answers to questions prioritised by the Australian decadal plan for astronomy, including how elements are produced by stars and recycled through galaxies, how galaxies form and evolve across cosmic time, and how stars and planets form.

Read more about Giulia’s research

Tanya Bowes

Tanya Bowes, CSIRO Director of Corporate Affairs

Tanya Bowes is the Director of Corporate Affairs at CSIRO, where she leads the function responsible for communications strategy, stakeholder engagement, government relations, media relations, reputation and brand, marketing and digital and internal communications.

With 25 years’ experience, Tanya’s skills span a wide range of communications and corporate affairs disciplines, and her career has seen her work with organisations in both the private and public sector, having led communications in Australia as well as across Japan and Asia Pacific, the United Kingdom and Europe. She’s led communications for Vodafone, Hutchison Telecoms, 3 mobile, PeopleSoft/Oracle, and Destination NSW.



Tour of CSIRO Lindfield with Dr Scott Martin for pre-registered guests


Welcome and introduction by Dr Scott Martin and Dr Bob Steele


Presentation by Tanya Bowes


CSIRO Alumni Physics scholarship award, presented to Giulia Cinquegrana


LCU awards, presented by Helen Lorigan


End of ceremony

4.00 pm

Afternoon tea served in the foyer



About the Scholarship

The CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics was established to commemorate the scientific contributions of Drs. John Dunlop, Tony Farmer, Gerry Haddad and Don Price who died in a helicopter crash in March 2013. The $6,000 travel scholarship helps post-graduate students visit and/or conduct research in an overseas or interstate institution such as a university or research.