The scholarship and event commemorate the contributions that four cherished colleagues Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer made to Australian science.

This year’s scholarship winner is Benjamin Paul Dix-Matthews.

Benjamin’s project is 'Coherent optical free-space frequency dissemination'.

Benjamin has developed an innovative system capable of overcoming the complex challenges associated with the stabilised free-space transfer of optical frequencies. He will use the 2020 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship to travel to France to test his prototype system in a practical experiment of an optical transmission between two buildings in Toulouse. The project is in collaboration with the CNES The French Space Agency.

The event will be hosted by Dr Marcus Zipper.

A panel of our former winners will present a short series of talks on how the scholarship has helped them with their research and supported their work.

Light refreshments will be served after the presentation.


  • Free


CSIRO Alumni

Event date: 19Feb 2020

Wednesday 19 Feb 2020

CSIRO's Lindfield - Foyer and auditorium

  • 3.00pm AEST

36 Bradfield Road, Lindfield NSW
Get Directions

More information

About the Scholarship

The CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics was established to commemorate the scientific contributions of Drs. John Dunlop, Tony Farmer, Gerry Haddad and Don Price who died in a helicopter crash in March 2013. The $6,000 travel scholarship helps post-graduate students visit and/or conduct research in an overseas or interstate institution such as a University or research establishment of international standing in the field of proposed research. We are keen to keep awarding this scholarship each year.

Funding for the scholarship is made possible by the generosity of family, friends, CSIRO alumni and colleagues of Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer. The Scholarship team also acknowledges the generous contributions from the Laboratories Credit Union and CSIRO.

Please help us achieve this goal with your tax-deductible donation at:


Time Activity
1.45pm Tour for pre-registered guests
3.00pm Welcome address
3.10pm Hear from our former winners
 - Matthew Rendell (2019)
 - Naomi Paxton (2018)
 - Scott Liles (2017)
 - Brianna Ganly (2016)
3.40pm LCU Awards
4.00pm 2020 CSIRO Alumni Physics scholarship award
4.20pm Afternoon tea and networking

Science areas: General Science

Event type: Performance or show