Celebrating the 2019 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics

The CSIRO Alumni has the pleasure of inviting you and your guest to the 2019 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics award ceremony.

The scholarship and event commemorate the contributions that four cherished colleagues Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer made to Australian science.


  • Free

Event date: 18Feb 2019

Monday 18 Feb 2019

CSIRO Lindfield - Foyer and auditorium

  • 3.00pm - 5.00pm

36 Bradfield Road, Lindfield NSW

More information

This year’s scholarship winner is Matthew Rendell.

Matthew's project is to develop ultra-high quality germanium heterostructures, as well as the fabrication of working nanostructures on these high quality germanium wafers. He will use the scholarship award to visit the QUTech group at TU Delft in the Netherlands. This will allow him to access one of the best nanostructure research and fabrication groups in Europe.

"I hope to gain knowledge and skills in the growth of germanium heterostructures and nanoscale device fabrication which is not available to me at any facility in Australia. This trip will give me opportunities to work with and learn from leading experts in both wafer growth and device fabrication, which is rare to be able to access at one facility. I will subsequently bring these devices and wafers back to Australia for characterisation and measurement as part of a continued collaboration between our research group at UNSW and the QUTech group at TU Delft.

This visit will also allow me to develop a collaborative relationship with the QuTech group, as well as their industry partners including Intel and Microsoft. This will provide me with networking opportunities and collaborators for ongoing research projects both at UNSW and TU Delft."

The award will be presented by Dr Cathy Foley, CSIRO Chief Scientist.

Light refreshments will be served after the presentation.

About the Scholarship

The CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics was established to commemorate the scientific contributions of Drs. John Dunlop, Tony Farmer, Gerry Haddad and Don Price who died in a helicopter crash in March 2013. The $5000 travel scholarship helps post-graduate students visit and/or conduct research in an overseas or interstate institution such as a University or research establishment of international standing in the field of proposed research. We are keen to keep awarding this scholarship each year.

Funding for the scholarship is made possible by the generosity of family, friends, CSIRO alumni and colleagues of Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer. The Scholarship team also acknowledges the generous contributions from the Laboratories Credit Union and CSIRO.

Please help us achieve this goal with your tax-deductible donation at: http://www.givenow.com.au/csiroalumni


Time Activity
2.45 Guests arrive
3.00 Welcome - Scott Martin, CSIRO
Introduction of Scholarship - Bob Steele, CSIRO Alumni
Hear from our previous winner Naomi Paxton
LCU Tertiary Scholarships presented by Leanne Harris
2019 CSIRO Alumni scholarship award presented by Dr Cathy Foley
Hear from this year's winner Matthew Rendell
Conclusion - Scott Martin, CSIRO
4.30 Afternoon tea and refreshments

Science areas:

Event type: Exhibition or workshop