Celebrating the 2018 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics

Pay tribute to four esteemed colleagues: Dr John Dunlop, Dr Tony Farmer, Dr Don Price, Dr Gerry Haddad

The NSW Chapter of the CSIRO Alumni has pleasure in inviting you and your guest to the 2018 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics award ceremony.


  • Free

Event date: 18Apr 2018

Wednesday 18 Apr 2018

CSIRO's Lindfield - Foyer and auditorium

  • 2.00pm (AEST)

36 Bradfield Road, Lindfield NSW
Get Directions

More information

The scholarship and event commemorate the contributions that four cherished colleagues Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer made to Australian science.

Funding for the scholarship is made possible by the generosity of family, friends, CSIRO alumni and colleagues of Drs. John Dunlop, Gerry Haddad, Don Price and Tony Farmer. The Scholarship team also acknowledges the generous contributions from the Laboratories Credit Union and CSIRO.

This year's scholarship winner is Naomi Paxton, who is studying the biofabrication: using 3D printing to fabricate and create biologically-relevant tissue substitutes. Her project focuses on combining a dissolvable polymer with bioactive glass that mimics the natural composition of bone. Naomi has developed mathematical models to predict the extrusion behaviour of materials during 3D printing, and methods to design patient-specific implants. The Scholarship will allow Naomi to travel to Imperial College London to learn advanced imaging techniques to optimise this biofabrication process for rapid translation into clinical use.

The Australian of the Year, Michelle Simmons, will give a video presentation.

The award will be presented by Dr Martin Cole, Science Director, Agriculture & Food, CSIRO.

Light refreshments will be served after the presentation.

Please join us on the day to congratulate the 2018 scholarship recipient and to catch up with news from previous recipients and colleagues.

About the Scholarship

The CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics was established to commemorate the scientific contributions of Drs. John Dunlop, Tony Farmer, Gerry Haddad and Don Price who died in a helicopter crash in March 2013. The $5000 travel scholarship helps post-graduate students visit and/or conduct research in an overseas or interstate institution such as a University or research establishment of international standing in the field of proposed research. We are keen to keep awarding this scholarship each year.

Please help us achieve this goal with your tax-deductible donation at: http://www.givenow.com.au/csiroalumni

Science areas: General Science

Event type: Public seminar